Welcome to our site

Français (France)   English (UK)


Antananarivo, known as Tana, is the capital of Madagascar. The city has a European feel to it, with French widely spoken and many road and shop signs in French. With a population of about 1.25 million inhabitants, it is also the largest city in the country. It is here that most international flights arrive and depart, and as such you will no doubt spend some time here. The capital has a subtropical highland climate characterised by warm, rainy summers and mild, dry winters. The city gets nearly all of its average annual rainfall between the months of November and April. Although frosts are rare in the city, they are more common at higher elevations. The daily mean temperatures can range from 20.8 °C in December to 14.3 °C in July.

North Region

The Antsiranana province in the north of Madagascar covers an area of 43,406 square kilometres. The province is divided into two regions - Diana and Sava. The Diana region is further sub-divided into Ambanja, Ambilobe, Antsiranana Rural and the city of Antsiranana, which is the capital of the region and the Nosy Be District. The Sava region includes its capital Sambava, and the principal towns of Antalaha, Vohémar, and Andapa

South-East Region

Fianarantsoa Province to the south-east of Madagascar is composed of five regions: Atsimo-Atsinanana, Amoron'i Mania, Ihorombe, Haute Matsiatra, and Vatovavy-Fitovinany. The Atsimo-Atsinanana region is further divided into Befotaka, Farafangana, Midongy-Sud, Vangaindrano, and Vondrozo. The Amoron'i Mania region is composed of the towns of Ambatofinandrahana, Ambositra, Fandriana and Manandriana.

North-west Region

Mahajanga province in the north-west of Madagascar is divided into four regions - Betsiboka, Boeny, Melaky and Sofia. The principle cities in the Betsiboka region are Kandreho, Maevatanana and Tsaratanana. The Boeny region contains the capital Mahajanga and the districts of Ambatoboeny, Marovoay, Mitsinjo, and Soalala.

East Region

The Toamasina Province, also known as the Tamatave Province in the east of Madagascar covers an area of 71,911 square kilometres. The province is divided into three regions - Alaotra-Mangoro, Analanjirofo, and Atsinanana. The Alaotra-Mangoro region is further sub-divided into Ambatondrazaka, Amparafaravola, Andilamena, Anosibe An'ala and Moramanga. The Analanjirofo region contains the districts of Fenerive Est, Mananara Nord, Maroantsetra, Nosy-Boraha, Soanierana Ivongo, and Vavatenina.

South-west Region

The Toliara Province to the south-west of Madagascar covers an area of 161,405 square kilometres. The province is divided into four regions - Androy, Anosy, Atsimo Andrefana and Menabe. The Androy region is further sub-divided into Ambovombe, Bekily, Beloha, and Tsiombe. The Atsimo-Andrefana includes the towns of Ampanihy, Ankazoabo, Benenitra, Beroroha, Betioky, Morombe, Sakaraha and the capital of the province Toliara. The Anosy region contains Amboasary, Betroka and Tôlanaro.

Central Region

The Central region of Madagascar comprises the Antananarivo Province which encompasses several regions, including: Analamanga, Bongolava, Itasy and Vakinankaratra. Notable cities and towns in the Analamanga region include the capital and largest city in Madagascar, Antananarivo as well as Ambohidratrimo, Anjozorobe, Andramasina, Ankazobe and Manjakandriana. The towns of Fenoarivobe and Tsiroanomandidy are found in the Bongolava region; Arivonimamo, Miarinarivo and Soavinandriana in the Itasy Region.


We are a multi-disciplinary team working together to create awesome websites that provide you with all you need to know about the countries of the Indian Ocean


 Office No.2 14,Avenue sodnac

  +230 425 0637

Subscribe to our newsletter to always be up to date! See more, learn more.